July Ipsy Glam Bag

July is already here and gone which has left part of me wondering where the first six months of the year went. It seems that we are zooming through 2016 and the glam bags that come with it. Even though we are on our way into August I wanted to share with you all the products that came with my bag this past month.

This month’s glam bag was full of both exciting and less than thrilling products. I sometimes wonder if I should cancel my subscription but then I realize that the price is absolutely worth it for the few good products I get. While there may be a dud or two out of the five products that come each month there are always products I absolutely adore.

The theme of this month’s bag was Hot Summer Nights. On first glance I was not a fan of this particular bag. It looked like cheap shiny material but I have grown to kind of like it. The pattern looks like little mints sprinkled on the material of the bag. While it is still not my favorite I appreciate the variation in bags that Ipsy has offered over the months. I give this bag a 3.5/5.

The first product I pulled out of the bag was theBalm Cosmetics Meet Matt(e) Trimony Eyeshadow. This particular eye shadow was available in Matt Kumar and Matt Moskowitz. The former is a shade of matte cranberry and the latter a shade of matte plum. I received the Matt Kumar shade which I much prefer over the plum. This cranberry is beautiful, rich, and ultra matte. The funny thing about this particular product is the name – Matt(e) Trimony and the description Marriage Matt(e)rial. Immediately after pulling this out I burst into laughter. My boyfriend’s name is Matt and it just cracked me up that the first product I found in my Ipsy bag was all up in the commitment with the name Matt tagging along with it. Overall I was incredibly pleased with the quality of this product. I’ve been using it for my evening makeup looks. Whether it be date night or girls night it’s a beautiful shade that accentuates the eyes and with draw plenty of compliments and inquiries as to what products you used. I give this eye shadow a definite 5/5.

The second product I saw was the Eva NYC Get Glossed! Hair Serum. I was unsure about this initially because I didn’t recognize the brand but I was pleasantly surprised by both the scent and the effect that it had on my hair. It has proteins which increases the strength of your hair as well as adds shine. This product is also good for taming frizz and protecting against heat damage. I give it a 4/5, it works quite well but the sample was tiny and leaves a bit of a residue.

The third item in my bag this month was the tre’StiQue Mini Highlight Stick in Maldive Luminescent. I was extremely excited to receive this product as I have been searching for new highlighters to try out. This one is the perfect shade for my face and is not too pinky as I’ve found can sometimes be the case with other shades. The only thing that I didn’t particularly like about the stick was that because of the consistency at times it felt thick on my skin and encouraged breakouts. But overall I was definitely happy that I received this product. I just recommend you wear it on days that you won’t be spending outside in the heat of summer. I give this product a 4/5.

I also received ModelCo’s PowerLash Black Mascara. I was not nearly as thrilled with this product as I was with the others. However a mascara is a mascara and I can always use more. It’s okay quality, nothing to write home about. 3/5

The final product was a Luxie Beauty brush. Specifically the Luxie Rose Gold Small Angle Eye Brush 215. I’m getting a tad sick of getting brushes in these bags but the Luxie are good quality so hey can’t complain I suppose. 3/5 because it’s not something I wanted but it is a quality product that will get used.

Overall this bag is a solid 4/5. Let me know in the comments below what your favorite product was in your bag this past month!

 

Leave a Reply

